Our Lady of Perpetual Help Church in Hue is a great Catholic work, with high architectural value and certainly an attractive tourist destination of Hue city.
On the eve of the Feast of Immaculate Conception (December 8) in 1925, the first three missionaries from Canada included Father Hubert Cousineau (1890-1964), Father Eugène Larouche (1892-1978) and Barnabé St-Pierre (1883-1961) founded the Congregation of Our Lady of Perpetual Help in Hue. After nearly 10 months of construction, January 8, 1929, the inauguration of the monastery was held and on March 25, during the Annunciation for Our Lady, the community of Our Lady of Perpetual Help in Hue was declared.
Our Lady of Perpetual Help Church in Hue was built in 1937 and completed in 1942. The architecture of the church is a combination of the architectural features of the East and France. The characteristic of the church is that when entering the cathedral, we feel there are no pillars, no walls, no electrical system, the church interior is 38m wide, 72m long, always illuminated by the system of large glass panels on the walls. The main altar is made of pink marble, 3.6m long, 1.25m wide and 0.3m high. In addition to the main altar, there are also two smaller altars made of this precious stone, with drums and gongs which bring Asian characteristics.